

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF THE FIFTY-SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

Community Recognition Statements

15 October 2019

ATHERTON CLOSE COMMUNITY FIRE UNIT

Ms SONIA HORNERY (Wallsend):

I recently joined Fire and Rescue NSW Inspector Brett Crotty to present medals for long service to the Atherton Close Community Fire Unit. The Atherton Close Community Fire Unit was established 15 years ago and was the first to be established in the Newcastle area. Community Fire Units are a team of local residents living in urban areas close to bushland, who are supported by Fire and Rescue NSW to enhance their safety and resilience to bushfires. There are more than 590 Community Fire Units operating through NSW, with almost 7,000 volunteers giving up their time to help the community.

For the past 15 years, the Atherton Close CFU has undertaken property preparation and protection, actively managed spot fires and ember attacks in times of bushfire, and assisted with recovery operations within their area of activity. Six members of the Atherton Close Community Fire Unit were given long service medals for 15 years of service. Congratulations to Bill Anderson, Peter Anastasiou, John King, Richard Masson, Andrew Collins and John Williams.