

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF THE FIFTY-SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

Community Recognition Statement

18 November 2021

NNSW FOOTBALL AWARDS

Ms SONIA HORNERY (Wallsend):

Despite another COVID-19 impacted season, Northern NSW Football recently held their annual presentation night to celebrate the 2021 season.

The awards recognise and celebrate the best teams, players and clubs throughout Northern NSW Football's seven member zones.

Congratulations to Lambton Jaffas and former Newcastle Jets Goalkeeper, Ben Kennedy, who was named the Bill Mahoney Goalkeeper of the Year, conceding just 15 goals in 16 games. Congratulations to Lambton Jaffas coach, Shane Pryce, who was named joint Coach of the Year.

Congratulations go to the Adamstown Rosebuds, who were chosen as the Club of the Year, with the Club also winning the Fair Play Award.

Congratulation to Edgeworth FC who took out the Club Championship. Obviously the COVID interruption was a disappointing way to end the year but I look forward to seeing everyone again, bigger and better, in 2022.

Congratulations to all the award winners on a fantastic season. You have done yourselves and your clubs proud.

Thank you to Northern NSW Football Chair, Helene O'Neill, and CEO, David Eland for all your work during another tough season impacted by the pandemic.