

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF THE FIFTY-SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

Community Recognition Statement

19 November 2021

CALLAGHAN COLLEGE WARATAH CAMPUS

Ms SONIA HORNERY (Wallsend):

The annual NSW Education Minister's and Secretary's Awards for Excellence acknowledges the achievements and outstanding efforts of students, educators, parents and schools.

Callaghan College was a recipient of the Secretary's School Achievement Award for its Faculty Leadership Improvement Project (FLIP) initiative, which ran across its three campuses.

The award is presented to schools that successfully create a sustainable learning environment through a whole-of-school project. The schools must have a significant improvement in learning outcomes and opportunities, and excellence in student learning.

Through the FLIP initiative, each of the remarkable College Instructional Leaders have shown the value of efficiently leading for impact. They each effectively led targeted projects to address areas of need in their faculty, and have built the capacity of their teams through distributed leadership, as well as developing a high level skillset themselves. Most importantly, the College Instructional Leaders have positively impacted the learning culture at each of their campuses.

Well done to Waratah Campus Instructional Leaders Allison Blight, Amy Worth, Bart Simpson, Brent Scrivener, Georgie Gallagher, Eunice Hsu, Jeffrey Bull, Jessica Rose, Judy Brown, Lindsay Morrow, Louise Payne, Michael Derry, Nicole Avard, Sheena Roberts, Tristan Densham, Wendy Davis and Yvette McShane.