

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF THE FIFTY-SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

Community Recognition Statement

21 November 2019

AHA AWARDS – HOTEL JESMOND

Ms SONIA HORNERY (Wallsend):

The AHA NSW Awards for Excellence are recognised as the most prestigious awards programme in the hospitality industry.

The awards honour the achievement of excellence in NSW hotels across a variety of segments including accommodation, dining, entertainment, marketing, social media, community service and talented employees.

A number of local hotels from the Wallsend electorate were finalists, up against hotels from right across NSW.

Hotel Jesmond was a finalist in the Best Sporting Entertainment Venue, Best Regional Tab Venue, Best Parmi, Best Burger, Regional Chef of the Year and Regional Hotel of the Year.

They took out the top prize for Best Burger and Regional Chef of the Year. Congratulations to owner Daniel Ferguson, Head Chef Paul Thornton and his staff, Steph Carter, Alex Boulus, Samantha Wright, Brent Smith, Tiarne Shanks, Luke Picone, William Holt, Ken Way Woon, Sheikh Mohaimenur, Shanahan Payne, Joshua Merrill, Jemma Walsh, Lucas Rowston, Parash Karmacharya, Pratikkumar Raichura, Alice Everard, Catie Crampton, Kate Maclure, Lucy Herbert, Madeline Butler, Piper Walter, Ashlee Sunderland, Brandi Kennedy, Connor Thorp, Bradley Fowles, Edan Tickle, Hayden Ivers, James Williams, Jourdan Tadros, Lucy Koch, Matthew McRae.