

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

## FIRST SESSION OF THE FIFTY-SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

## **Community Recognition Statement**

23 November 2021

## SHORTLAND PUBLIC SCHOOL

## Ms SONIA HORNERY (Wallsend):

The NSW Aboriginal Education Consultative Group is a not for profit Aboriginal organisation that provides advice on all matters relevant to education and training.

They promote respect, empowerment and self-determination and believe the process of collaborative consultation is integral to equal partnership and is fundamental to the achievement of equality. They also advocate for cultural affirmation, integrity and the pursuit of equality to ensure that the unique and diverse identity of Aboriginal students is recognised and valued.

Recently, three members of the Shortland Public School community were recognised in a virtual ceremony by the Muloobinbah Local AECG "Make a Difference" awards for their hard work and contribution to Aboriginal Education.

Congratulations to Aboriginal Education Officer Mr Heath Gibbs, School leader Abbie Jones and volunteer dance coordinator Carly Powell, who were all awarded for their significant contribution to Aboriginal Leadership at Shortland Public School.

Congratulations on your awards and also a massive thank you for all that you have done and continue to do for the School.

Also, a special mention to Carly who received the top award overall for a parent volunteer across all schools in the area for her work with the dance groups.