

# PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

#### FIRST SESSION OF THE FIFTY-SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

#### **Community Recognition Statement**

24 September 2020

### BERESFIELD AND TARRO PUBLIC SCHOOL

## Ms SONIA HORNERY (Wallsend):

Congratulations to Beresfield and Tarro Public Schools who were the recipients of the 2020 Department of Education Secretary's Award for Outstanding School Initiative.

Together with local schools at Woodberry, Black Hill, Thornton and Millers Forest, Tarro and Beresfield received the award for their Strong Start, Successful Learners Transition Support program.

The program assists early childhood centres to better understand the transition to school process. Working in partnership with the Transition Support Teacher, the process provides both school transition teams and early learning centres with the opportunity to begin looking at children and their needs much earlier, therefore facilitating their transitions over a longer period of time.

Strong connections between partner primary schools and local service providers has successfully resulted in 'bridging the gap' from Pre-K to Kindergarten, allowing all children to get the best start to their education.

Carolyn Wilson, the cluster Transition Support Teacher, is key to the program's success. Beresfield Principal, Jonathon Ridgeway and Tarro Principal, Kelly O'Shea, are full of praise for Carolyn and the program she has run.

Well done Carolyn and all the schools on this award.