

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

## FIRST SESSION OF THE FIFTY-SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

**Community Recognition Statement** 

29 March 2022

## MACQUARIE COLLEGE STUDENT LEADERS

## Ms SONIA HORNERY (Wallsend):

I congratulate the newly elected leadership team of Macquarie College on their appointment. Macquarie College is a wonderful community. Its members pride themselves on their diverse and nurturing culture.

Led by Principal Rohan Deanshaw, the outstanding staff at Macquarie College work alongside the parent and student body by developing and supporting each student through their foundational years of learning.

The kind hearted students at Macquarie College never fail to approach every opportunity with positivity and diligence, helping uphold the wonderful culture that the school community shares.

The 2022 leadership team is a group of amazing students who demonstrate the Macquarie College's values.

I congratulate the 2022 Student Leaders, Senior School Captains Georgie Westerman, Jehiel Pillay, Mia Trigg and Andile Ndlovu and Junior School Captains Leila Wishney, Meredith Walsh, Scarlett Wicks and Jonah Tomlin on their successful appointment.

These students should be incredibly proud of this achievement. I look forward to seeing them lead their peers through this exciting year filled with new opportunities.

I extend my best wishes to the new student leaders at Macquarie College.