

# PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

#### FIRST SESSION OF THE FIFTY-SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

### **Community Recognition Statement**

29 March 2022

## WARATAH PUBLIC SCHOOL STUDENT LEADERS

## Ms SONIA HORNERY (Wallsend):

I congratulate the newly elected leadership team of Waratah Public School on their appointment. Waratah Public School is a wonderful community. Its members pride themselves on their diverse and nurturing culture.

Led by Principal Mat Freeman, the outstanding staff at Waratah Public School work alongside the parent and student body to uphold their motto "Success for Every Student, Every Day" by developing and supporting each student through their foundational years of learning.

The kind hearted students at Waratah Public School never fail to approach every opportunity with positivity and diligence, helping uphold the wonderful culture that the school community shares.

The 2022 leadership team is a group of amazing students who demonstrate the Waratah Public School's values.

I congratulate the 2022 Student Leaders, School Captains Paige Gallagher and George Waskett, School Leaders Ella Di Donna, Isabella Wheatland, Sam Metcalf and Noah Edwards on their successful appointment.

These students should be incredibly proud of this achievement. I look forward to seeing them lead their peers through this exciting year filled with new opportunities.

I extend my best wishes to the new student leaders at Waratah Public School.