

PARLIAMENT OF NEW SOUTH WALES LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF THE FIFTY-SEVENTH PARLIAMENT

Community Recognition Statement

30 March 2022

WARATAH WEST PUBLIC SCHOOL STUDENT LEADERS

Ms SONIA HORNERY (Wallsend):

I congratulate the newly elected leadership team of Waratah West Public School on their appointment. Waratah West Public School is a wonderful community. Its members pride themselves on their diverse and nurturing culture.

Led by Principal Nicola Moroney, the outstanding staff at Waratah West Public School work alongside the parent and student body to uphold their motto "Respect, Responsibility, Learning" by developing and supporting each student through their foundational years of learning.

The kind hearted students at Waratah West Public School never fail to approach every opportunity with positivity and diligence, helping uphold the wonderful culture that the school community shares.

The 2022 leadership team is a group of amazing students who demonstrate the Waratah West Public School's values.

I congratulate the 2022 Student Leaders, School Captain Soziar Rashid, Vice Captains Estelle Umbaugh and Tyler Chapman, School Leaders Addison Cheers, Ava Sedunary, Mahe Tupou and Isaiah Bamblett-Clarke on their successful appointment.

These students should be incredibly proud of this achievement. I look forward to seeing them lead their peers through this exciting year filled with new opportunities.

I extend my best wishes to the new student leaders at Waratah West Public School.