1. Wallsend Electorate

Wallsend Electorate

Geographic Information

The Wallsend Electorate is based in the western corner of the City of Newcastle local government area and also takes in some of the northern suburbs from the City of Lake Macquarie.

The seat was first established in 1894 and was abolished in 1930. Wallsend was re-created at the 1968 election and has remained ever since.

The key industries in the area are health, transport equipment, tertiary education, food-processing, railway goods, chemicals and heavy engineering.

The Wallsend Electorate has a population of almost 76,000 residents and more than 57,000 enrolled voters.

Suburbs of the Wallsend Electorate

Beresfield, Birmingham Gardens, Black Hill, Callaghan, Cardiff, Cardiff Heights, Elermore Vale, Fletcher, Garden Suburb, Glendale, Hexham, Jesmond, Lambton, Lenaghan, Maryland, Minmi, New Lambton, New Lambton Heights, North Lambton, Rankin Park, Shortland, Tarro, Wallsend, Waratah, Waratah West.

Electoral District Maps