1. Media Releases
  2. Nominations Open For 2018 Women Of The Year Awards

Nominations Open For 2018 Women Of The Year Awards

Media Releases

State Member for Wallsend, Ms Sonia Hornery MP, has called for the Wallsend community to recognise an outstanding woman by nominating her for the 2018 NSW Women of the Year awards.

The awards celebrate the remarkable and inspiring women who make a significant contribution to the local community.

There are seven state-wide award categories including NSW Premier’s Award for Women of the Year, NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year, Community Hero of the Year, Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year, Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year Award, NSW Business Woman of the Year and New First State Super Lifetime Achievement Award.

Nominations close on 18 December 2017 and can be made at www.women.nsw.gov.au. Winners will be announced at the NSW Women of the Year Awards ceremony hosted by the NSW Minister for Women on International Women’s Day, Thursday 8 March 2018.

Quotes attributable to Member for Wallsend, Sonia Hornery

“Every day women of all ages across the Wallsend community make a great contribution and these annual awards are an opportunity to publicly acknowledge and celebrate these inspirational women.”

“We are looking for women who excel in business, inspiring female role models, women who have demonstrated excellence in their career and elsewhere, women who have made significant contributions in their community and young women who achievements make them young leaders in changing the social and business landscape for women.”

“Our community is made up of women who stand out with their remarkably inspiring success stories.”

“The Women of the Year Awards are a chance for the community to officially recognise the phenomenal contribution they make.”